Advanced Technology Program


The South Australian School Pathways Programme (known as the Advanced Technology Program (ATP) in South Australia) is an initiative funded from the Commonwealth by the Department of Defence and managed by the Department for Education.

The ATP has a purpose to help reduce skill shortages in the defence industry by increasing the pool of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) educated students and informing Australia's youth about employment opportunities and pathways into the defence industry through the development and delivery of;

a) a suite of activities to:

i. increase student awareness of the defence industry as an employer of choice;

ii. provide secondary students with positive career experiences in defence or allied industries; and

iii. support student awareness of and access to pathways into the defence industry sector; and

b) student intervention activities and teacher professional development opportunities to:

i. enhance STEM capability and education and enterprise skills;

ii. enhance student engagement, participation and/or enrolment in STEM; and

iii. provide an increased focus on indigenous and female participation.

The ATP has 24 core schools (19 Government, 3 Catholic, 2 Independent) with 8 schools in each of the Northern, Southern and Western regions. A wide range of STEM programs and professional development for teachers is supported within the core ATP schools and other schools.


Northern Schools

Southern Schools

Western Schools

Government schools

Government schools

Government schools

Non government schools

Non government schools